Overreacted

做好技术分享,第一章:驱动

December 26, 2018 • ☕️☕️ 8 min read

我做过一些我认为非常不错的分享

有时人们问我如何准备好一个分享。对于每个人来说,答案都是不同的,下面我分享的是对于我有用的部分。

本文是这个系列分享的第一部分,本文中我阐述了如何准备一个技术分享—从产生一个想法到现场分享。


本文中,我只会关注第一步:我是为什么并且如何挑选话题的。 这并不会提供很多实践建议,但是可以让你关注一些正确的点。


是什么激励你,让你来做技术分享?

可能分享就是你现在工作的一部分,可能你希望以此在公司中获得更多认同,来获得一份更好的工作,或者晋升。可能你仅仅是希望大家更了解你的兴趣或工作项目。

我们称这些驱动是外在的,它们关系到别人如何评价你以及你的工作。但如果你已经拥有了你想要的声望和金钱,你仍然会做一个技术分享吗?为什么?

也许你享受传道受业;也许你享受学习,而做分享正是一个追根究底的好方式;也许你希望引起一个话题的讨论;也可能你只想对一个观点衡短论长。

这些内在驱动并不只是代表希望获得专业认可,这些东西对你来说有固有的价值。不同的人有不同的内在驱动,了解你自己的内在驱动是有意义的,你可以通过他们追本溯源,更清楚地认识自己。

例如,以下是我的内在驱动:

  • 我乐于分享灵感性的想法。 有时,一个想法能改变我的思考方式,能打开新世界的大门。大部分情况下,一个人思考是闭门造车,我希望其他人来和我交流,能让我茅塞顿开。对我来说,一次分享,是一个集思广益的过程。(在我年轻时,虽然我的音乐品味并不突出,但我喜欢制作磁带。而现在,我却喜欢分享,生活总是会带给你惊喜。)
  • 我乐于以简单的方式解释事物。 当我理解一个想法时,我会获得比吃甜食更大的愉悦感。学习对我来说不是易事,所以当我搞清楚某事时,我希望能通过我的方式点醒被它困扰的人。我尝试记住在我恍然大悟之前我的观点是如何的,这样能帮助别人在接受我的分享时获得同样的过程。(我小时候经常让别人问我问题,这让人难以忍受,而做分享则是一个更有成效的让别人提问的方式。)

把这两个内在驱动结合起来,我就有了一个让我满意的分享的秘方:以简单的方式解释一个灵感性的想法。


这是我的准则,一千个人眼中就有一千个哈姆雷特,好好想想什么分享让你感到特别,他们之间有何形式上的类似吗?(本系列接下来会更多地讨论分享形式)

Luna Lovegood invoking a Patronus Charm. Image © 2007 Warner Bros. Ent

做一个和你驱动一致的分享对你在以下方面是有帮助的:

  1. 话题变得更容易挑选。 我的准则是「解释一个灵感性的想法,以及你为何需要关注它」。在我学会的有趣的概念上,通过实施这一准则我可以搞定我的分享提案。只要持续地和聪明人交流,听取他们值得发扬光大的想法,我就总可以有一些值得讨论的话题。而你可以挖掘更多可能的准则!
  2. 讲台上你不会觉得胆怯。 在分享前的三十秒,我会觉得恐惧,不过一旦我开始演讲,这就是我的舞台了。分享一个灵感性想法的驱动力战胜了被批评或者做错事的恐惧。(当然,以上都是只有你做好了准备才有效,我们会在接下来的文章中讨论)
  3. 你会变得更让人信服。 Sophie 在这方面表达得比我好:如果你对一个话题充满了热忱,观众也会被你感染,也会对此感兴趣。激情并不只代表挥着手或者大声说话,即使你很冷静,人们同样可以感受到背后的信念。(这就是为何我们就算听不懂歌词,也可以感受一首歌)

当你对某个话题感到非常兴奋时,还有一个原因会激励你—你会感觉自己是宏伟事业的一部分,这会让人充满信心。

其实我的分享是关于一个想法,并不是关于我,而我只是一个信使。那些上万的观众,他们评判的不是我(即使他们是如此认为),他们只是来听取我的想法。我的只是把想法传递给其他人。把这些想法植入内心后,来自分享的精神压力就会消失。


寻找契合你驱动的准则可以帮助你确定你的话语。但是,你如何找到可以应用这个准则的特定话题呢?

根据我的经验,良好的谈话始于对话。 有人向我解释了一个想法,然后我试着向别人解释,我和十几个人讨论它,最后我能找到「普适」的解释。想法有时会被忽视或误解,我会试图让不同人以不同的眼光看待它。

对我来说,分享只是一种概括这些对话并使它们成为一对多而非一对一的方式。它就像一个「库」,是你从许多面对面和社交媒体讨论的「应用程序代码」中提取出来。

因此,如果你想进行一次精彩的分享,与人交谈是一个很好的开始。

Hermione Granger making a potion. Vials have text imposed on top:

在这篇文章中,我描述了我认为有助于分享的套路。我重申下,我只是分享对我有用的东西—很多情况下,你的看法可能大相径庭。

在本系列的下一篇文章中,我将讨论准备分享大纲,幻灯片,预演以及我在分享当天所做的工作。

本系列的下一篇:做好技术分享,第2部分:内容,原因和方法

Overreacted

Preparing for a Tech Talk, Part 1: Motivation

December 26, 2018 • ☕️ 5 min read

I’ve done a few tech talks that I think went well.

Sometimes people ask me how I prepare for a talk. For every speaker, the answer is very personal. I’m just sharing what works for me.

This is the first post in a series where I explain my process preparing for a tech talk — from conceiving the idea to the actual day of the presentation:


In this post, I will only focus on the first step: why and how I pick a topic. It’s not rich in practical tips but might help you ask yourself the right questions.


What motivates you to give a talk?

Maybe giving talks is a part of your current job. Maybe you want to gain more recognition in the industry so you can land a better job or get a raise. Maybe you’re out there to bring more attention to your hobby or work project.

We’ll call these motivations external. They are about what other people think of you and your work. But if you already had all the respect and money that you wanted, would you still choose to give a talk? Why?

Maybe you find it rewarding to teach people. Maybe you enjoy learning, and giving a talk is a nice excuse to dig deeper. Maybe you want to start or change the conversation about a topic. Maybe you want to amplify or critique an idea.

Such internal motivations aren’t a proxy for another desire like professional recognition. These are the things that have intrinsic value to you. Different people are driven by different internal motivations. It’s helpful to be aware of yours. You can sometimes trace them all the way back to your childhood.

For example, here’s mine:

  • I enjoy sharing ideas that inspire me. Sometimes, an idea transforms the way I think. It opens many doors that I didn’t even know existed. But it’s lonely behind those doors. I want others to join me so that they can show me even more interesting doors inside. For me, a talk is a way to collect, curate, and amplify ideas that I find tasteful. (As a teenager I made mixtapes for crushes with no interest in my music taste. Now I do talks! Life, uh, finds a way.)

  • I enjoy re-explaining things in a simpler way. When I understand an idea, I get a very pleasant feeling — better than eating sweets. But learning doesn’t come easy to me. So when I finally “get” something, I want to share that feeling with the people who are still struggling. I try to remember what it was like before the a-ha moment to help others “make the jump” while watching my talks. (I was also insufferable as a child because I insisted that everyone asks me questions. A talk is a more productive way to channel that energy.)


Combining these two internal motivations gives me a recipe for a personally satisfying talk: share an inspiring idea by re-explaining it in a simpler way.


That is my formula. Yours might be different — think about it! Which talks made you feel in a special way? What are the structural similarities between them? (We’ll discuss the talk structure more in the next posts in this series.)

Luna Lovegood invoking a Patronus Charm. Image © 2007 Warner Bros. Ent

Giving a talk that’s aligned with your motivations is helpful in several ways:

  1. It’s easier to pick a topic. My formula is “explain an inspiring idea and why you should care about it”. I can create talk proposals by applying this formula to any interesting concept that I learned. I’ll always have something to talk about as long as I’m listening to smart people with good ideas that deserve more exposure. There are many other possible formulas — find yours.

  2. It’s less scary on stage. I get terrified 30 seconds before the talk but the moment I start talking, I’m in my element. The drive to share an inspiring idea overtakes the fear of being judged or doing something wrong. (Of course, this only works with good preparation which we’ll talk about in the next posts.)

  3. It’s more convincing. I can’t phrase it better than Sophie did: if you’re enthusiastic about a topic, you can get the audience to care too. Enthusiasm doesn’t necessarily mean being loud or waving hands. Even if you’re calm, people can feel when there’s an emotional conviction behind a talk. (This is also why we can vibe to a song even if we don’t understand the words.)


There’s one more reason it helps when you’re genuinely excited about a topic. Feeling that you’re a part of something bigger does wonders for confidence.

My talks aren’t about me — they’re about an idea, and I’m just a messenger. Thousands of people on the livestream and in the audience aren’t really there to judge me (even if they think so). They came to experience the idea that I brought to share. My role is just to be a conduit from one mind to another. A lot of nerves and pressure from the talks disappeared after internalizing this.


Finding a formula that’s consistent with your motivations helps you establish your own voice. But how do you find a specific topic to which you can apply it?

In my experience, good talks start as conversations. Somebody explains an idea to me, and then I try to explain it to someone else. I talk about it to a dozen people, and eventually I find explanations that “click”. Sometimes there’s a thought that seems neglected or misunderstood, and I try to get individual people to see it in a different light.

For me, a talk is just a way to generalize those conversations and make them one-to-many rather than one-to-one. It’s like a “library” you extract out of the “application code” of many in-person and social media conversations.

So if you want to give a great talk, talking to people is a good way to start.

Hermione Granger making a potion. Vials have text imposed on top:


In this post, I described the framework that I find helpful for thinking about talk ideas. Again, I want to emphasize I’m just sharing what works for me — there are many kinds of talks and your outlook on this may be very different.

In the next posts in this series, I will talk about preparing the talk outline, slides, rehearsing the talks, and what I do at the day of the presentation.

Next in this series: Preparing for a Tech Talk, Part 2: What, Why, and How.

Discuss on TwitterEdit on GitHub

Join the Newsletter

Subscribe to get my latest content by email.

    I won’t send you spam.

    Unsubscribe at any time.

    Overreacted

    Dan Abramov

    Personal blog by Dan Abramov. I explain with words and code.